The history of the town is closely linked to its natural resources in thermal water:
up until 1841, Challes-les-Eaux or Triviers as it was then called was a modest town and its population mainly farmers.
The discovery of the Spring in April 1841 by Doctor Louis Domenget, however, brought prosperity and the town modernized rapidly.
The name Triviers was changed to Challes les Eaux in 1872 , two years later the Thermal Baths were built and opened its doors to its first bathers.
Towards the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century, the spring became renowned for its unique properties throughout Europe. Many famous personalities stayed in Challes les Eaux to “take the waters”.